Triangular One Day Series Back This Summer

By Staff Writer    |    Cricket   |   Jun 16, 2011 05:54 AM

Cricket Australia are going back to the future and reinstating the triangular one day series.

After four years in the wilderness, cricket’s governing body has decided to bring back the three team format, with India and Sri Lanka taking part this year.

However it is unclear how long the tri series will be back in vogue, as it is believed the Board of Cricket Control in India, along with Indian broadcasters demanded the change because it means there will be more matches featuring India.

Cricket Australia made the decision to scrap the triangular series four years ago because broadcasters, administrators and fans were not all that keen on watching matches that did not feature Australia.

Scrapping the triangular series also meant that there was more flexibility in the scheduling. Without the tri-series, Cricket Australia were able to break up the one day internationals, instead of having to play them in a solid block.

However the revised schedule of seven one dayers in a row against a single nation, had cricket fans complaining that the local international summer went just too long. England arrived in Australia in October last year and played their final one day international in February.

This year the test match summer commences on December 1st, with Australia taking on New Zealand at the Gabba. The second of two tests between Australia and the Kiwi’s will be commence at Bellerive Oval on December 9.

Australia will then play a four test series against India on home soil for the first time since the controversial tour of 2007/8. That series will start on boxing day in Melbourne, and will finish at the Adelaide Oval, which has had its once traditional Australia Day test reinstalled.

The Commonwealth Bank triangular one day series will then begin on February 5, with the three nations playing 12 games in total before the best of three finals, which will be played in Brisbane and Adelaide.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland said that he hoped there was something for everyone in this summer’s schedule of cricket.

“ICC World Cup winner India is also the number one test team in the world at the moment. Sri Lanka is also in great form as we saw at the world cup, while we know New Zealand is always a formidable opponent that thrives when playing Australia.” Sutherland said.

Sutherland also outlined the importance of this summer’s test matches for our cricketers, saying it was vital that we got off to a winning start against New Zealand because the ICC Test World Championship would also be kicking off at the start of the Australian summer.

There are just two international Twenty20 fixtures this set down for the Australian summer. Australia will play India at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium in a T20 match on February 1, and then again at the MCG two days later.

Although there will be no shortage of T20 cricket on Aussie shores this summer. Cricket Australia has overhauled the Big Bash competition, which will now see eight city based teams competing in a competition that will be separate from all forms of state cricket.

It is widely believed that Cricket Australia has established the new T20 league in a bid to free itself from solely relying on international tours, which are becoming less profitable every summer.