About NRL

The NRL (National Rugby League) is the premier rugby league competition in Australia.

Whilst the NRL was established in 1998, the competition has also been known as the ARL (Australian Rugby League) and NSWRL (New South Wales Rugby League) and dates back to 1908.

In 1908 there were nine teams competing in the NSWRL, with all of them being based in Sydney and surrounding areas. However over the next hundred years rugby league would grow and today there are 15 teams based along the east coast of Australia and one in New Zealand.

There are currently ten clubs in New South Wales, three in Queensland, and one each in the ACT,Victoria and New Zealand.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are the most successful club in Australian rugby league with 20 premierships, while the Sydney Roosters are the only club that have been in the competition for every year since 1908.

The NRL kicks off each year in March and runs through until October. The top eight teams from the regular season qualify for the finals, with these eight teams being whittled down to two who fight it out for NRL supremacy in the Grand Final.

The best players from the NRL are selected to play in State of Origin, which is one of the biggest events on the Australian sporting calendar. The game’s elite are selected for either Queensland or New South Wales, depending on where they originated from, with the two states fighting it out in a best of three series.

Australia has long been seen as the benchmark in rugby league and a such the NRL is considered the top rugby league competition on Earth. The NRL is broadcast into the UK, Europe, Asia and the USA and Canada.